all-occasion pecan pie

20131202-000812.jpg

i have only ever made this pie for thanksgiving, but this year I realized that it is way too good to not incorporate into year-round enjoyment status. the crunchy nuts, flakey crust and custard-y filling. my in-laws have seriously raved about this pie for years. it took me a bit to come around, namely because I don’t generally love pecans. but, boy, i am there. send me my fan club membership card. promise me you’ll try this pie. it’s so easy and will gain you lifelong admirers.

20131202-000905.jpg

20131202-000937.jpg

PECAN PIE
1 stick butter
1 C sugar
1 C corn syrup
3 eggs, beaten
1 C chopped pecans (I got a bag of “chopped pecans” but the pieces were still huge, so I ran them through a few pulses in the food processor)
Pie dough of your choosing, enough for a 9 inch pie (I prefer an all-butter crust, but store dough will do in a pinch)

-preheat oven to 350
-prepare pie dish with the dough. make a pretty edge if you so desire!
-in a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat. add the sugar and corn syrup. stir until the sugar is completely dissolved.
-temper the eggs by slowly dribbling in the hot sugar mixture into the egg bowl while whisking constantly. once the eggs have been warmed up enough, pour the liquid in the bowl back into the saucepan. mix well and evenly.
-stir in the pecans and pour the filling into the pie shell.
-bake for 55-60 minutes. the pie is ready when the filling only has a very slight jiggle. check the jiggle!!

enjoy plain, with ice cream or with whipped cream. i unapologetically love cool whip.

Leave a comment